Oyo Assembly again extends tenures of Chairmen of LGs, LCDAs by 4 months

2020 budget passes second reading

The Oyo State House of Assembly on Tuesday again extended the tenure of Local Government Chairmen and their counterparts at Local Council Development Areas, (LCDAs) by four months.
The Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Michael Adeyemo, who read the letter from the state Governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi requesting for the extension of the Chairmen’s tenure, gave the order during Tuesday’s plenary following the unanimous agreement by honourable members of the house.
It would be recalled that the house had four months earlier extended the tenure of the chairmen to conduct elections into 33 local governments in the state, including the LCDAs following a matter pending in the court.
But in a letter from the executive dated November 3, 2017, Governor Ajimobi sought for the renewal and appointments of new chairmen into local government areas and LCDAs where have been left vacant due to legal restriction.
The new name of Chairmen nominees are Akeem Aransi from

Lagelu West LCDA, Adediran Asifu from Irepo LG, Remi Adeniyi from Afijio LG, Okeniyi Gbolagade from Atiba LG, Oladeji Tajudeen Olabisi from Oyo West LG, Odekanmi Olayinka from Oriire LG.

Others are Babatunde Abiodun Adebayo from Oyo East, Akano Nathaniel Idowu from Asabari LCDA,  Tunde Ojo from Afijio  West LCDA, Oyelayo Sunday Ajiboye from Soro  LCDA, Tiamiyu Taiwo from Oyo South East LCDA,

Jelili Abiola from Oyo  South West LCDA, Jacob Bamigboye from Oriire South LCDA and Oriire North LCDA whose nominee was not mentioned.
The Speaker, Rt. Hon. Adeyemo has however directed the nominees to come with their credentials on Wednesday before chairman house committee on Local Government for screening and the committee should report back to the house on Thursday’s plenary.

ALSO READ  Find other means of economic sustenance outside Oil-Borroh tells Ijaw Youths


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.