U-16 S’ West Hockey Tournament Begins Today in Ibadan

Buy ebooks on health & fitness leaderboard banner.jpg

Under-16 South West Hockey Foundation Tournament: Hon Abayomi Oke,Elated To Be The Chief Host And Showers Encomium On Trustees And Organisers..

Oyo state Commissioner For Youth and Sports State,Hon. Abayomi Oke has commended the Board of Trustees and Organisers of the U-16 SWHF tournament for a job well done.

The commissioner while answering questions from journalists in his office felt excited to be the Chief Host of the 5th Edition of the prestigious tourney and promised his maximum supports for the success of the competition at all times.

In his words, ‘ apart from being the Chief Host of this year edition of the tournament, its a thing of joy to see this happen in our domain as it will boost the morale of the students,keep them mentally alert and enable them to know that one can equally become great in life being a hockey player like footballers and basket ballers. I promise not to relent in my efforts to supporting the tourney to ensure its wide acceptability and development of sports in general’.

According to a press statement issued by Alabi Tunji, a member of the media team, The former GCI Quadrangular Hockey Competition is organised for Hockey Playing Secondary Schools in the South West Region of Nigeria and ensures the participating schools get free feeding,accommodation, registration and movements to and fro accommodation venues to the field of play.

The 5th Edition is scheduled to hold from Wednesday 21st November, 2018(Arrival Day) to Saturday 24th November, 2018 at the Main Bowl of the Lekan Salami Stadium,Adamasingba,Ibadan at 9am daily.

ALSO READ  Osun Election: APC Guber Candidate,Oyetola Expresses Confidence in the Process

The well packaged event will witness a Seminar/Talk to be delivered by Dr Theophilus Joshua on the theme ‘ Effective Management Of Education And Sports In Adolescent Stage’.

Among the aims and objectives of the SWHF is to develop a structural programme from the grassroots levels to the elite stage,developing both Hockey players and technical officials.

All the Six South West States will be represented in this year 5th edition of the tournament.

Government College, Ibadan,Oyo State won the 3rd and 4th edition to become the defending champions of this unique and classical championship..

Sell your eBooks here


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.