Oyo Assembly Calls for Creation of More State Constituencies

2020 budget passes second reading

Kehinde Ayanboade,


The Oyo state House of Assembly has on Tuesday called on the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC to create more constituencies in Oyo state in line with the provision of the 1999 Nigerian constitution as amended.

The Honourable House made this call while observing its plenary deliberating on a motion calling for the upward review of state constituencies in Oyo state jointly sponsored by seven lawmakers.

The motion read by one of the sponsors, Hon Kazeem Isiaka( Oyo East /Oyo West) noted that the division of Oyo state into thirty-two state constituencies across thirty-three local Govts was based on the 1991 population figure.

According to the House,with the increase in the population figure of Oyo state since 1991, there is the urgent need for INEC to create more constituencies in the state.

It was also resolved that the executive arm of Govt should forward a memo to the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC on the need for more constituencies so that some local Govts joined as one constituency can be separated,

The lawmakers equally urged Oyo state representatives at both chambers of the National Assembly to also champion the call for the upward review of state constituencies as the present constituency delineation in the state is unjustifiable

In another development, the House called on the Federal Ministry of Works to erect an overhead pedestrian bridges and overhead lights along Lagos/Ibadan Expressway to ensure the safety of residents.

While deliberating on the motion brought by Hon Francis Adetunji (Oluyole), the House called on members representing the areas in the National Assembly to consider erecting solar lamps at Soka,Academy, Muslim,Olorunsogo, and Oremeji junctions along Lagos-Ibadan Express road.

ALSO READ  Oyo  Assembly Chief Whip Arrested  Over Sugar’s Death

The Speaker,Hon Ogundoyin at the plenary announced the composition of Oyo state Universal Basic Education Board ,SUBEB

While reading a message from the executive, Hon Ogundoyin announced Dr Nureni Adeniran as the Chairman of the board, Mr Akeem Oladeji and Mr Dayo Ogungbenro as full time members of the board and directed the appointees to submit their credentials to the House as soon as possible.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.