Gbajabiamila Emerges House of Reps Speaker


Honourable Akeem Olufemi Gbajabiamila has been elected as the Speaker of the House of Representatives for the Ninth Assembly.

Mr Gbajabiamila who is a candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 283 votes to defeat his close contender Umar Bago who had 76 votes.

Gbajabiamila, who has been a member of the House of Reps since 2003, represents Surelere 1 Federal Constituency of Lagos State.

In 2011, Gbajabiamila contested for the third term on the platform of the Action Congress of Nigeria and won. He narrowly missed becoming Speaker of the Eighth Assembly as he lost a keenly contested election to Hon. Yakubu Dogara. He however became the Majority Leader of the House.

Hon. Ahmad Idris Wase from Plateau State emerged Deputy Speaker as he was the only one nominated for the position. He was unanimously adopted by a voice vote from members-elect

ALSO READ  Reps Summon Kachikwu, Baru Over Alleged Fuel Subsidy Payment


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.