26 Years-Old Youth Corps Member,Other Nominated As Commissioner in Kwara

Joana Kolo

26-year-old Joana Nnazua Kolo from Edu local government area of kwara state was among commissioner nominees forwarded the names of four women to the State House of Assembly Kwara State Governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq

Miss Kolo is still having her National Youths Service Corps programme in Jigawa, where she is teaching at Model Boarding Junior Secondary School Guri.

The youngest commissioner-nominee in the state’s history, is a 2018 graduate of Library Science from the Kwara State University (KWASU). A grassroots mobiliser, Miss Kolo is an ardent advocate of community development.

If confirmed, she would be Nigeria’s youngest commissioner, taking the trophy from Oyo State’s 27-year-old Oluwaseun Fakorede

She would be screened  the cabinet seat after she rounds off her NYSC service in the next two weeks.

According to a statement issued on Tuesday by the governor’s Chief Press Secretary, Rafiu Ajakaye,  governor AbdulRazaq also nominated a former Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the FBN Mortgages Limited, a subsidiary of the First Bank,  Folashade Omoniyi, as the new Chairperson of the Kwara State Internal Revenue Service (KW-IRS). She would succeed Prof Murtala Awodun whose tenure expires soon.

Omoniyi, who holds a bachelor of engineering from the University of Ilorin and Masters of Business Administration from Obafemi Awolowo University, has many years of leadership experience in the banking sector, marketing, information communication technology, and business management.

She has executive education in positive leadership from Michigan Ross Executive Education (USA); Market Driving Strategies from London Business School (UK); Strategic Uses of Information Technology from Stanford Business School ( USA); and Senior Management Programme (SMP18) from the Lagos Business School (Nigeria).

ALSO READ  Man Attacked for Evading Traditional Rites

Omoniyi is from Irepodun local government area of the state.


The three other nominees, as contained in the letter sent to the House of Assembly, and made available to our correspondent,  are professionals and grassroots politicians: Mrs Sa’adatu Modibbo-Kawu; Arinola Fatimoh Lawal; and Aisha Ahman Pategi.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.