Oyo 2019: INEC Releases list of Gubernatorial Candidates

Buy ebooks on health & fitness leaderboard banner.jpg

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), in Oyo on Friday, released names of the thirty seven gubernatorial candidates and deputy gubernatorial candidates of various political parties that will contest in the 2019 general elections in the state.

The candidates’ names were pasted at the premises of the commission’s headquarters located along the Queen Elizabeth-Secretariat Road in Ibadan, the state capital.

Some of the thirty seven names released included Mr. Adebayo Adelabu of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr. Seyi Makinde of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Adebayo Alao-Akala of the Action Democratic Party (ADP), Akinwale Olaosun of AAC and Olaide Olayiwola of KOWA Party.

Others in the list obtained by DAILY POST were: Bamidele Ajadi of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Mogaji Odelalu of National Action Council (NAC), Hakeem Oyedele of Alliance for Democracy (AD), Saheed Ajadi of Accord Party, Olatunji Adigun Sadiq of Labour Party.

2016 Hot Business Ideas

Also in the list included Bamigboye Abiodun of Socialist Party of Nigeria (SPN), Bolanle Ashabi Sarumi Aliyu of National Interest Party (NIP) and Taiwo Otegbeye of PPC.

INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner, Barrister Mutiu Agboke, said that the essence of the pasting the names was to give room for transparency in the electoral process.

Agboke while speaking added that the names were pasted in order for the general public to have access to the particulars of each candidate.

ALSO READ  Black Thursday in Calabar as 30 football Fans Electrocuted at Viewing Centre


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.